Posted in RetroStank, Spirit and In-Spirit-ation, The Vent, Writing

90s Babies, the Fresh Prince of Peace & The Living Water

On a bench under a tree in Piedmont Park amidst the playground and the catbirds, three-and-a half souls sat: Robert, Carmen, Riley and myself. Gathered to share scripture, struggle, success, and prayer, the Atlanta sun shone us. I asked, “Does anyone want to share a theme they’ve been digesting?” My dazzling husband ( ❤ u baby) Robert,  chimed in with something he had described to his homie who is from Eatonville, FL, Zora Neale Hurston’s birthplace.
As we sat, two girls walked past. We gave them water bottles, wrapped in lime green duct tape and Sharpied with Revelations 22:17, John 3:5, and John 4:14.

They pointed out the group gathered on a quilt, saying that they would want water too.

Slap to the right of us was about ten nineties’ babies. ❤

Rob and Riley reached them first and offered something to wet the tongue and the soul. Carmen shared 1 John 5:9-12 and I showed them how the daughter of an elder, tired of church every Sunday, surrounded by metaphysics, practicing religions from A to Z could find His love again.

“I left high school so sure Christ couldn’t be the Answer because I’d witnessed self-professed Christian leaders wallowing in sin. I couldn’t deal with that. So time, I got to CAU, I was wide open spiritually. I wanted to belong, I wanted to love, I wanted acceptance. We want our families to encourage us and we want to give our love freely. I wanted healing and I was looking under every rock, every flower, every ideology. My grandmama was telling me all the time, “Lauren, the Word is you life.” She did not approve of the Nefertiti sculptures, incense, and Ganesh paintings, but she still called me and she still sent money to me.

Fast forward to 2014 when I became pregnant with my son Riley. My grandmama passed less than a month before he was born. I was speechless. I’ll never forget how I chanted Jesus; I chanted His name. All that pain vanished..

I don’t know what your journey is, what your trials are, but the Lord is waiting on you. You are His. The Earth is His. Every car, every house, every job, every person, every treasure, every place is His.”

Below is the beautiful group that was gracious enough to listen.

To yall, I love you and I am praying for your best.

You are the best version of you, period.

An original creation. Like my grandma would say He wants His best for you, but you have to allow Him in. Repent and be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ, who died on the cross and by whom we are redeemed back to God.

Young and old, do not be afraid to declare that Christ lives.  “But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭10:33‬ ‭KJV‬‬

Put Satan under your feet as Antoinette Ellis-the Dominicana told me today. Tell Satan he is a lie!

P.s. Everyone check out  http://m-o-n-d-o.tumblr.com/post/122056704144/my-musical-journey-so-far

It is the blog of the dude in the red jacket.

   

 

“And the Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let him that heareth say, Come. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.”

‭‭Revelation‬ ‭22:17‬ ‭KJV‬‬

“Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.”

‭‭John‬ ‭3:5‬ ‭KJV‬‬

“But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

‭‭John‬ ‭4:14‬ ‭KJV‬‬

Sidenote —>Rob broke down the true distinction between God’s church and all that that ain’t. “Imagine that the whole world was full of lames. A lame wants to him buy something to boost his credibility. He sees somebody selling Jordan’s. He don’t realize this hustler got FAKE-Fake-Fakety-Fake Jordan’s. We can tell the real Jordan’s by the quality, the Jordan on the sole, the holographic bubble, etcetera. In the same way, God has one real church. If it don’t have the name Christ, then you better check the tag. 😀 That Sunday, me and my homeboy stopped at a Petro; he says to me “Ay cuz” and holds up a pair of fake J’s.” Like Carmen says, God’s got a sense of humor.

 

Author:

Now see, Miz RetroStank is so many different things (aren't we all?), but namely, she IS a Chistian, wife, mother, light, poetess, songwriter, actress, fashion show coordinator, scriptwriter, freethinker, artist, ATLien, and a weirdo with a love for culture and healing. She wants you to know that you can BE, DO, and HAVE anything and everything through Christ! She is native to the third coast, specifically the Southern kingdoms of Arkansas and Georgia. Sweet as pie, good as gold, and free as a bird, she is the only girl of three chill'un, and lawd, did that make for some imagination and shopaholic tendencies. Her father was an Army man and her mama is an infinitely enthusiastic and loving lady. In any case, exposure to different places, expectation of excellence, and a homeopathic childhood environment, majorly tilted her towards uniqueness; she was THAT girl who wore a dragon-print dress with a mandarin collar one day and a funky TLC-inspired look complete with ponytails and barrettes the next. So, by now, you're understanding that she is all about the spice of life. So sit back, buckle your seat-belt, and enjoy "the Funky ride all around the world" (in the words of Outkast).

Two Cents, anyone?

