Posted in RetroStank

Babies Everywhere

image

(Jordan and Dad pictured)

My middle brother could play my dad, if ever there were a biopic of his life. They undeniably share the same physical features and character traits. Well, Jordan will be graced with a baby boy literally any day now. His wife is about four days overdue, which is not unusual, my baby boy was nine days late.     As he waits, I imagine how handsome and strong my nephew will be! My little one will be five months his senior and oh, how they will play together (no pressure for me to bear another playmate). I am extremely excited and will update with pictures of little Jordan Jr. and hopefully, pics of the whole tribe.

Babies Everywhere is the title of this post. Haven’t you notice the rise of big ol bellies and blue baby carries and those scarf-like pupusas? I’m thinking the graduating class of 2032 is  going to be one-thousand students per high school. My dad and I were talking about the climate and preparations he created before having me. He waited, or rather God waited (without whom no creature is born), until he was thirty-one, ten years into his military career, and relatively into maturity to have me. Today, my husband and I attended Wednesday morning bible study where Bro. Brian was teaching us about self-control, control of the body, control of thoughts, control of time, control of emotions, and control of finances. Some of the text he used came from 1 Corthinans, which would be expedient for you if you were to read it. Well, I understand that my life is reflective of my self-control or lack thereof. Proclivities…proclivities were also a hot topic; our uniques predispositions to desire quite naturally certain activities or things. I, myself, am praying that the Lord strengthen me against my proclivities. My late grandmother knew the time and energy I was lending to my courtship would blossom into something more. Her soul and the soul of my newborn or rather, her space and his space, swapped one for the other, and she left before he entered. I bet you are wondering why I would bother to mention these things. Simply because I found myself crying out for her presence as my brother welcomes his first son. Being the children of a Army colonel, we have traveled and moved, therefore find ourselves scattered, and scattered can become lonely. Thank God we have the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, to help us fight. My grandmother always quoted Ephesians 4:29-32: 29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

As all of these new souls are born this year, may we all be better and keep becoming better examples of Christ.

Author:

Now see, Miz RetroStank is so many different things (aren't we all?), but namely, she IS a Chistian, wife, mother, light, poetess, songwriter, actress, fashion show coordinator, scriptwriter, freethinker, artist, ATLien, and a weirdo with a love for culture and healing. She wants you to know that you can BE, DO, and HAVE anything and everything through Christ! She is native to the third coast, specifically the Southern kingdoms of Arkansas and Georgia. Sweet as pie, good as gold, and free as a bird, she is the only girl of three chill'un, and lawd, did that make for some imagination and shopaholic tendencies. Her father was an Army man and her mama is an infinitely enthusiastic and loving lady. In any case, exposure to different places, expectation of excellence, and a homeopathic childhood environment, majorly tilted her towards uniqueness; she was THAT girl who wore a dragon-print dress with a mandarin collar one day and a funky TLC-inspired look complete with ponytails and barrettes the next. So, by now, you're understanding that she is all about the spice of life. So sit back, buckle your seat-belt, and enjoy "the Funky ride all around the world" (in the words of Outkast).

One thought on “Babies Everywhere

Two Cents, anyone?

