Posted in Spirit and In-Spirit-ation

Universal Prayer (from “Easy Steps to Yoga” by Sri Swami Sivananda)

tribal%20free%20designs%20owl%20big%20eyes%20tattoo

UNIVERSAL PRAYER
Thou art, O Lord, the Creator of this Universe. Thou art the Protector of this world. Thou art
in the grass and the rose. Thou art in the sun and the stars. Salutations unto Thee, O Destroyer of the
cycle of births and deaths! Salutations unto Thee, O Bestower of Bliss and Immortality!
O Sweet Lord! May I be free from the bonds of death. May I never forget my immortal
nature! May I be able to look upon all beings with equal vision! May I attain the Supreme seat of
Brahman! May I be free from impurity and sin! May I know my essential nature!
Adorations to the Supreme Being, who dwells in the hearts of all beings, who is in the fire
and water, who is in the plants, herbs and trees, who is in the stone, brick and iron bars, and who is
pervading the whole universe.
I bow to Thee, O Secret of secrets! I bow to Thee, O Indweller of our hearts! I bow to Thee,
O Silent Witness of all activities of all minds! I bow to Thee, O Inner Ruler of all beings, who
pervades and permeates and interpenetrates all things of this universe.
Salutations to Thee, the Supreme Lord! Thou art without beginning and end. Thou art the
flower. Thou art the bee. Thou art woman. Thou art man. Thou art the sea. Thou art the waves. Thou
art the old man tottering with a stick. Thou art the saint. Thou art the rogue.
Thou art Light Divine. Thou art Light of knowledge. Thou art the dispeller of darkness.
Thou art the Supreme Guru. Thou art beyond the reach of mind and speech. Thou art beyond any
kind of limitation. Thou art the Self of this universe.
Thou art Self-luminous. Thou art without parts, without actions, without limbs, without any
taint or fault, without birth and death. Thou art our Father, Mother, Brother, Friend, Relative, Guru
and Sole Refuge! Thou art the embodiment of Peace, Bliss, Power, Knowledge, Strength and
Beauty.

O All-merciful Lord! Through Thy Grace May I realise the Truth. May I always entertain
sublime thoughts. May I realise myself as the Light Divine. May I serve humanity with Atma
Bhava. May I be free from greed, lust, egoism, jealousy and hatred. May I behold the one sweet
Immortal Self in all beings. May I realise Brahman with pure understanding.
May that Light of lights ever guide me! May He cleanse my mind of all impurities! May He
inspire me! May He bestow on me Power, Courage and Strength! May He remove the veil in the
mind! May He remove all obstacles on the spiritual path! May He make my life happy and fruitful. I
bow to Thee,OLord of lords,OGod of gods,ODeva of Devas, the Brahman of the Upanishads, the
Support for Maya and Isvara, the Supreme Bridge to Immortality!
Om Santih! Santih! Santih!

{sharing this because it has helped me get through my fast today.)

Author:

Now see, Miz RetroStank is so many different things (aren't we all?), but namely, she IS a Chistian, wife, mother, light, poetess, songwriter, actress, fashion show coordinator, scriptwriter, freethinker, artist, ATLien, and a weirdo with a love for culture and healing. She wants you to know that you can BE, DO, and HAVE anything and everything through Christ! She is native to the third coast, specifically the Southern kingdoms of Arkansas and Georgia. Sweet as pie, good as gold, and free as a bird, she is the only girl of three chill'un, and lawd, did that make for some imagination and shopaholic tendencies. Her father was an Army man and her mama is an infinitely enthusiastic and loving lady. In any case, exposure to different places, expectation of excellence, and a homeopathic childhood environment, majorly tilted her towards uniqueness; she was THAT girl who wore a dragon-print dress with a mandarin collar one day and a funky TLC-inspired look complete with ponytails and barrettes the next. So, by now, you're understanding that she is all about the spice of life. So sit back, buckle your seat-belt, and enjoy "the Funky ride all around the world" (in the words of Outkast).

Two Cents, anyone?

